LapStacker® Reviews

LapStacker reviews & videos from customers around the world.

John Griffin
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

This is going to be super useful.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 months ago
Lindanz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Great product and superb service. Thank you!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 months ago
Carlaus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I use my lapstacker every single day! I didn't know if it would be worth the money but it was worth every penny.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

4 months ago
Marijkenl
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Fabulous addition to my chair

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

4 months ago
Michael Nisslyus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Love these! Things are secure on my lap. No more bending over to pick items up off the floor.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

5 months ago
Dirk B.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

The lapstacker is great it changed a lot in my Daly live. Support was great.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Jennifer c.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Does what’s it’s made for, what more can you ask for!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
michelle s.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I love my lap stacker! The hardest part is remembering to use it, but I'm getting better. I was a little confused when I installed it but the tip email you sent out was exactly what I needed so that should definitely go out with all new orders. I have very bad arthritis in my fingers so I could use bigger finger loops to make it easier for me to pull up the straps, especially when I'm wearing gloves.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Chad W.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I love my LapStacker even more than I expected to. It’s a complete game changer when traveling and comes in handy several times a week. It’s great that you don’t need to plan ahead, it’s just there when you need it. The LapStacker team was amazing to work with. They have a variety of components to make everything compatible with your unique chair - and the communication to do so is first rate, even from half way around the globe. Treat yourself, you’ll wonder how you did without the LapStacker!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Chris H.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Great product and service.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Bruce Cluver
Verified ownerVerified owner
4/5

Works Good!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Scott Crouch
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Awesome product. I would heartily recommend to any and every wheelchair user.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Mathew Andrew
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Really Good!!!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Stephen J.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

LapStacker has made a huge difference in my ability to do things on my own. So nice to not have things falling off my lap all the time. I highly recommend it.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Reinhard D.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

it works well with my quickie q7

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Paula
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Fantastic company with an excellent product. Super handy for keeping belongings safe and secure on your lap, from single pieces of paper to larger bundles. Highly recommend this product.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Ben Lucas
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Great to deal with, came to my house. Too easy

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Robert Carroll
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

The greatest invention since the the wheel! I use it daily and often several times a day. From my lunch in the AM to a basket full of groceries in the PM, this holds everything tight on my lap. No more worrying about losing items as you move. Set up was easy and Mike was in constant contact making sure everything was up to par. If you use a wheelchair, this is a definite must have item that will make your life easier. Could not be more pleased. Looking forward to Mike's new inventions.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Emmett Lyman
Verified ownerVerified owner
4/5

I really get a lot of value from this! Much more than I expected. I realize that the price tag is pretty steep, and I would have had a hard time justifying it without having had direct experience beforehand. Also, I found that installation was much trickier than expected. But once fully installed and properly set up, this is a terrific tool!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Carla
Verified ownerVerified owner
4/5

I use it everyday

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

7 months ago
Benveet Gill
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I absolutely LOVE my LapStacker. I use it everyday and it has stopped many spills from happening. The ordering process was smooth and the customer service was impeccable. The device was shipped out very fast and the installation was fairly straightforward, the videos sure helped a lot. I recommend this product for any wheelchair user who is frustrated with things falling off their lap. The icing on the cake is that by purchasing a LapStacker you get to support a fellow wheelie homie!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

8 months ago
Anonymous
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Love it!! Super helpful as a wheelchair user!!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

8 months ago
Scott C.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I’m so glad I ordered this. I don’t know how I’d get by without it.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

8 months ago
Misty P.
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

It works well for everything I’ve needed it for

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

8 months ago
Anonymous
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Very useful and easy to use!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

8 months ago
Günther Bartl
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

most useful tool for wheelchair users. very versatile. affordable price. thumbs up!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

9 months ago
Jürgen Beilsteinde
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

10 months ago
Deborahus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Love the lapstacker! Mike was great to work with , fast delivery, quick to respond on any questions. Highly recommend!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

11 months ago
Jasonus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Great Product and Customer Service

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

12 months ago
Daniel M.nz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

These should be a given for everyone in a chair as soon as you leave the spinal unit. Don't know how I managed for 4 years before getting one! Such a great kiwi invention. Highly recommend

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
Jason L.nz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Quality built and innovative in its design, the Lapstacker is a great piece of equipment for every wheelchair user. Easy to install and built to last, I find new uses for it everyday and continue to be amazed in its practicality and usefulness. Definitely recommend !

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
David Wienerus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Very elegant and functional solution to a major issue for those of us in wheelchairs.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
Rebecca Rodleygb
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Absolutely life changing. Since having the lapstacker, I haven't dropped a single thing, and have been able to carry all sorts on my knees! I use it for everything from gardening, shopping, cooking. Anything in day to day life. I'm a jeweller and it's been amazing to not worry about my tools, and silver, falling off my knees when I'm going from A-B. If you're a wheelchair user, you need this in your life. It really does make all the difference in the world and has been absolutely life changing!
The installation was so easy, everything came quickly and was beautifully packaged. Thank you lapstacker!!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
Lynda Scottnz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I'm delighted to have found this product. Fitted it yesterday and today have found 2 uses for it, holding my backpack on my lap around town (a bit more secure than just sitting on my lap) and I managed to cart a lap load of firewood over the small doorstep and into the fireplace without spreading it around the floor!!! Thank you Adaptdefy... what an amazing gadget! 52 years in a wheelchair and it's the best thing ever.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
Skye K.us
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Awesome product that is extremely well made! Easy to set up but I emailed pictures to make sure I did it correctly and got a very prompt reply. Thanks for creating a product that will make life easier!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
Silke Liesende
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I am enthusiastic about LapStacker. I will not give up this great invention anymore. I don't lose anything anymore. No matter where, in the kitchen, when Shopping, in the garden or in the stable, when feeding the dogs... Simply great!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
Liekegb
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I would definitely recommend the lapstacker to other wheelchair users. It doesn't matter whether the item you try to carry on your lap is large or small, it is likely to fall off if you have to brake suddenly, manoeuvre over a small obstacle or tackle uneven terrain. With the lapstacker, this is no longer an issue. I originally intended this mostly to transport a laptop in a bag, but it has so many more uses. Mike and Tim were incredibly helpful to get the right brackets for my wheelchair and their response to enquiries is very fast. My only regret is not buying the lapstacker sooner!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

1 year ago
LAURENTfr
Verified ownerVerified owner
4/5

Très pratique. Dommage que le site soit tout en anglais .Il faudrait pouvoir choisir la langue .

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Landon McGauleyca
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

This product is a game changer. For years I have said I need an extra arm for carrying stuff while I wheel, this is the extra hand I needed. Installation was easy and the LapStacker does exactly what it is supposed to do. 10/10 recommend to anyone who uses a wheelchair

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Sophie E.gb
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

The lapstacker is absolutely genius! It is a total game changer and means that I can carry so much more and that my disability doesn't prevent me from doing what I need to do to live my life! Thank you so much for creating this - couldn't recommend getting one more highly!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Hayley Sparklau
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

excellent product idea, very useful, i’m sure that i will use it a lot

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Jono Nelsonnz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

It was pretty easy to install once I read the instructions provided on the website

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Anna Sarolus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

The LapStacker changes the game!! If you're a wheelchair user there is no need to think twice about investing in this product. It is everything that I have been looking for in the 5 years being in the chair. As a college student, this product has been especially helpful with carrying my textbooks on my lap and giving me that extra security that it won't fall! Again, you NEED this in your life! And HUGE thank you Adaptdefy for the amount of times their product has saved me from dropping and breaking things.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Paulaau
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I love the LapStacker and the freedom it gives me to keep my hands free, knowing everything on my lap is secure.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Dale B.us
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I've been using the LapStacker for over a month now and I find it very handy for carrying boxes and multiple bags. Highly recommend!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Hannah Wardus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Matthew T.us
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

The Lapstacker exceeded my expectations! Such a game changer

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Chris P.us
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Definitely a game changer! My usefulness around my house has increased greatly!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Dananz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Richard Corbettus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

A clever addition to my wheelchair that doesn’t add a lot of weight but adds a tremendous amount of value - whenever I use it my friends always ask “why wasn’t this invented earlier” I keep finding more and more creative ways to use it! 10/10 Five stars would (and have) recommend!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Megan Blunkus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Mike’s Lapstacker has truly been a dream come true to me in my life. I was the passenger in a motorcycle accident at the age of 18 that paralyzed me from the waist down. Going from an able-bodied lifestyle where things are 100 time more convenient in every-way possible to one where everything challenges you is not easy but it’s also not a bad thing. To me, my disability has been a blessing in so many ways and meeting Mike-the founder of Adaptdefy, is one of those blessings. Mike is all about making the world a better place, especially for people with disabilities and it’s no surprise to me that he invented such an incredible product, The Lapstacker. It’s not everyday you come across a product made specifically for your needs as a person who uses a wheelchair, so when you do, it can be pretty life changing. The Lapstacker not only saves you time because you can push faster knowing that the items on your lap are secure, but it is also a huge confidence booster as it increases your carrying ability and your trust in yourself to do certain tasks you may otherwise not try. I wish I could give a Lapstacker to every wheelchair user I know.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Katherine Beattieus
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

The LapStacker is a total game changer! I’ve been able to cut my trips to the grocery store in half because I can carry twice as much as I could before, which has already saved me so much time. And I’m saving money because I'm no longer breaking things when they fall off my lap. The LapStacker also makes traveling with extra luggage a breeze.

It’s easy to install and even easier to use. I don’t know how I’ve managed the last 8 years as a wheelchair user without it!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Arvin Ajodhafr
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Frankly, this is genius! A very good product that is hard to do without once tried!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Yossi Korenil
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I'm using it a lot.
For lunch box
For groceries in a plastic bag
For 6 pack ????
For 9 litres soda pack.
For open box - when I go to the supermarket I take an open carton and it helps me
For papers!!!! Now i can travel with papers without the need to fold them.
I even secured once my brothers kid with it (4 years old ????) but only as a joke.
Great product.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Mark D.us
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Congratulations on creating a product that exceeded my expectations!

In 2020 when everything has gone wrong, you came through! Thank you for solving a daily irritation of wheelchair life (I've been a wheeler for 23 years.)

The LapStacker arrived in perfect condition and was really quite easy to install. It actually weighs less than I thought it would, and works beautifully and flawlessly. Magnets work great, and the length of the straps is amazing!

My hat is off to all of you, actually it is on my lap, securely in place!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Bradnz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

The Lapstacker is a game changer for quads. The loops make it easier to put your thumb/finger in to pull up and the magnetic clip is simple to use. I’ve been using mine every day.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Susan W.nz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Receiving the LapStacker was special because it came all packaged up in a sexy little black box . . . I was super excited when it arrived!

Ended up being an easy install, bit like a puzzle at times but if you follow those instructions then it is easy peasy. Plus it came with all the tools needed so no rummaging around for the right Allen Key in the bottom of the tool box ????

Very tidy looking lines once it is on your wheelchair.

So easy to use, clipping up or releasing the “load” on your lap is easy. The magnets are really strong and makes it secure with anything you're carrying.

I worked on Election Day over the weekend and the LapStacker was extremely useful - lugging voting boxes, and boxes of equipment for set up and holding papers became instantly easier! Holding, ballot papers, manuals and the mass of paperwork on my lap securely instead of dropping things all over the place was simply . . . Awesome, Amazing, Freeing and so very useful. Finally a day when I did NOT have any embarrassing moments dropping things off my lap!

So Thank You Thank You Thank You Adaptdefy for the LapStacker - a totally life changing tool!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Katrin Wisniewskide
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I installed my Lapstacker back in September! I need to say, it's great piece of work! It fits and works so well! I am so thanksfull for the passion of the team of adaptdefy! Thanks for make my life and every day better! Greetings from Germany - Katrin

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Trisha T.us
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

This has made such a difference in my personal and work life!! Since getting the LapStacker, I have not dropped a lapful of papers/books across the hallway at work (something that happened almost everyday). I am able to take my lunch containers to the microwave with ease instead of trying to one-hand it all the way there and back. I also don't have to ask for help getting my bags off the back of my chair since I can just secure them on my lap! I can't say enough how much I love my LapStacker!!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Michaelde
Verified ownerVerified owner
4/5

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Sally Barkmannz
Verified ownerVerified owner
4/5

Great product!

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Andy Corlesnz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

I gave the LapStacker a good work out last weekend and was very happy with it. We were away at a show so had to carry stock and items for our stall. By using the LapStacker I was able to carry things in and out which I have not been able to do in the past.So thank you to you and your team for inventing something that is enabled me to do things which would not have been possible in the past.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Karl Bojharaca
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Quentin Smithnz
Verified ownerVerified owner
4/5

Works great. Fitting was ok. Initially miss identified the bolt lengths. Bit heavier than hoped.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Wayne F.nz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

This little addition to my chair has been ground breaking. I no longer need to worry about stuff falling off my lap. Supermarket shopping with a basket on my knee is a breeze now. I’m sure I’ll keep finding more and more ways to use it. Highly recommended...you won’t regret getting one ????

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago
Andrew Hawkernz
Verified ownerVerified owner
5/5

After sorting initial fitting issues I now use the Lapstacker most days.

Verified reviewVerified review - view original

2 years ago

Ready to buy a LapStacker?

Here’s how…

100% Money Back Guarantee

if a configuration for your wheelchair is not found.

Customer Videos

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top

You're in!

Download your free gift HERE

Plus, get $10 off a LapStacker

Enter code at checkout: LSX10MK

Valid for 48 hours

Welcome!

Sign up and receive a complementary gift.

Plus the latest updates & offers

15OFFLAP

Use this discount code when checking out to receive your discount.

Retractor Location Guide - Lower Horizontal Frame Tube

Watch the video or read on below
Play Video
Brackets Used

If you choose to mount the Retractors from the lower horizontal frame tube you’ll receive two 90 Brackets (as seen below) – one for the left and one for the right side of your chair.

The Retractors slot onto these Brackets, which are then attached vertically to the Lower Horizontal Frame Tube using Clamps.

Bracket Orientation

The Brackets have a tilt feature which allows you to adjust the angle of the Retractor so that it is parallel to the Keeper, for the smoothest operation.

Key Dimensions

The clamps are 16mm or ⅝” wide

The maximum distance from the centre of the Clamp to the centre of the Retractor webbing when mounted on the 90 Bracket is 70mm (3″).

Retractor Dimensions
The Retractors themselves are 75mm wide by 50mm high or 3×2″
Moving Other Attachments

Finally, it is worth noting that other attachments, such as brakes and side guard clamps can often be moved to accommodate the LapStacker® without compromising their function.

Need Help?

If this is the only option you’ve been given, it doesn’t look like it will work, or you’ve still got questions, then please contact us or your preferred reseller, and we’ll do our best to help.

Retractor Location Guide - Front Vertical Frame Tube

Play Video
Brackets Used

If you choose to mount the Retractors from the front vertical frame tube you’ll receive two Flat Brackets (as seen below) – one for the left and one for the right side of your chair.

The Retractors slot onto these Brackets, which are then attached to the front vertical frame tube using clamps.
Bracket Orientation

The Brackets have a single long slot and rotate feature, which provides plenty of adjustability so that you can align the Retractor webbing with the centre of the Keeper. 

Key Dimensions

The clamps are 16mm or ⅝” wide.

The maximum distance from the centre of the Clamp to the centre of the Retractor webbing when mounted on the Flat Bracket is 105mm (4 1/8″).

If the front vertical frame tube is too far forward to allow the Retractor webbing to align with your optimal Keeper position, or you don’t think you’ll have clearance from your legs, you may need to consider other Retractor locations available for your make and model.

The Retractors themselves are 75mm wide by 50mm high or 3×2″

Moving Other Attachments

Finally, it is worth noting that other attachments, such as brakes and side guard clamps can often be moved to accommodate the LapStacker® without compromising their function.

Need Help?

If this is the only option you’ve been given and it doesn’t look like it will work, or you’ve still got questions, then please contact us, or your preferred reseller, and we’ll do our best to help.

Retractor Location Guide - Cross Frame Rigidizer Bar

Play Video
Brackets Used

If you choose to mount the Retractors from the cross frame rigidizer bar, you’ll receive two Cross Tube Brackets (as seen below) – one for the left and one for the right side of your chair. These are automatically selected with the Retractor location chosen.

The Retractors slot onto these Brackets, which are then attached to the cross frame rigidizer bar using clamps. The Retractors can be mounted above or below the Brackets depending on clearance.

Batec Style Docking Bar

In most cases the Retractor can attach to a Batec-style docking bar in the same way it mounts to the cross frame rigidizer bar. 

In any case it is best you contact us, or your reseller, so we can help you determine if this is suitable and to confirm the correct clamp is ordered.


Bracket Orientation

The Brackets have slots in them to allow plenty of adjustability so that you can align the Retractor webbing with the centre of the Keeper.

The maximum distance from the centre of the Clamp to the centre of the Retractor webbing when mounted on the Cross Tube Bracket is 90mm ( 3.5″).

Clamp Dimensions
Retractor Dimensions & Weight
Leg Clearance

Please note, there must be clearance from the back of your legs, so we suggest mounting the Bracket and Retractor back a little bit from the edge of your cushion.

Seat Clearance

The Brackets are best tilted slightly downward, so the Retractors don’t touch the seat when the chair is in use.

Moving Other Attachments

Finally, it is worth noting that other attachments, such as brakes and side guard clamps can often be moved to accommodate the LapStacker® without compromising their function.

Need Help?

If this is the only option you’ve been given, it doesn’t look like it will work, or you’ve still got questions, then please contact us, or your preferred reseller, and we’ll do our best to help.

Retractor Guide – Frame Top Tube

Play Video
Brackets Used

If you choose to mount the Retractors from the frame top tube, you’ll receive two 90 Brackets (as seen below). One for the left and one for the right side of your chair.

The Retractors slot onto these Brackets, which are then attached to the top tube using clamps.

Bracket Orientation

Depending on what clearance you have available, the Brackets can be mounted forward of the clamp (above) or behind the clamp (below) to ensure that the Retractor webbing can align with the optimal keeper position.

The Brackets have a tilt feature which allows you to adjust the angle of the Retractor so that it is parallel to the Keeper, for the smoothest operation.

Key Dimensions

The clamps are 16mm or ⅝” wide.

The maximum distance from the centre of the clamp to the centre of the Retractor webbing when mounted on the 90 Bracket is 70mm or 3″.

The Retractors themselves are 75mm wide by 50mm high or 3×2″

Recommended Configuration

The Brackets are best mounted horizontally and tilted slightly downward, so the Retractors are tucked away and don’t touch the seat when the chair is in use.

 

It is very important to note that there must be clearance from the back of your legs, so we suggest mounting the Bracket and Retractor back a little bit from the edge of your cushion.

Moving Other Attachments
Finally, it is worth noting that other attachments, such as brakes and side guard clamps can often be moved to accommodate the LapStacker® clamp without compromising their function.
Need Help?

If this is the only option you’ve been given and it doesn’t look like it will work, or you’ve still got questions, then please contact us and we’ll do our best to assist.

Side Guard Keeper Guide

Play Video
Introduction

The Side Guard Keeper is only recommended after the Long and Short Keepers have been exhausted as options.

The Side Guard Keeper is often used for wheelchairs with short frames or where the side guards are oversized or extend forward beyond the wheels. 

How is the Side Guard Keeper Mounted?

The Side Guard Keeper mounts inside, or cushion side, of your side guards (otherwise known as the wheel guards or clothing guards). It is fixed in place using an adhesive patch. 

It is not recommended for fabric side guards, although it can work there with some custom modification.

You MUST have a gap between the side guard and Frame Top Tube so that
the webbing from the Retractor can pass through to the Keeper.

When is the Side Guard Keeper an Option?

The Side Guard Keeper could be an option when there is not enough space for a Long or Short Keeper and the side guard extends sufficiently forward of your body so that it comes close to the optimal Keeper position.

Some wheelchair makes such as the Hands on Concept range of chairs have oversized side guards and these are good examples of where a side guard can work.

Requirements

You must have:

  • 50mm (W) x 35mm (H) of clear space on your side guards, close to the mid-point where you will carry objects.
  • A rigid side guard suitable for adhering foam tape to.
  • A gap between the side guard and Frame Top Tube so that the webbing from the Retractor can pass through to the Keeper.
Dimensions and Weight
Pros
  • Robust, and simple to install
  • An option if the short or long Keepers are not viable
  • Cons
  • Not suitable for fabric side guards
  • Less adjustment available
  • More difficult to access the Buckles
  • Recommended Configuration

    We recommend the Side Guard Keeper is located so it doesn’t sit higher than your cushion. 

     

    From the testing we have done in that location, it should not interfere with the body or be a problem for skin pressure. We do recommend CAUTION and suggest that this is assessed carefully.
    Retractor Alignment

    Remember, the Keeper must align with the Retractor webbing so please keep this in mind as you review the Retractor Location Guides.

    Need Help?

    If this is the only option you’ve been given and it doesn’t look like it will work, or you’ve still got questions, then please contact us, or your preferred reseller, and we’ll do our best to assist.

    Short Keeper Guide

    Play Video
    Introduction

    The Short Keeper attaches directly to the Frame Top Tube and is most commonly used for folding wheelchairs.

    It may also be suitable for rigid wheelchairs that don’t have adequate space to Velcro a Long Keeper onto the seat base or webbing.

    If you have a rigid chair, a Short Keeper can usually only be placed forward of the seat base which generally places the LapStacker® forward of the ideal position. Please bear this in mind.

    Pros
    • Does not require a seat base to attach to the chair
    • Can be mounted forward of the seat base if required
    • Provides an option if the Long Keeper will not suit
    • Can be mounted in a variety of ways
    Cons
    • More parts
    • More complex to install
    • Less adjustment available
    Mounting Options

    The Short Keeper can be mounted to your wheelchair frame’s top tube in three ways.

    1. Snap-Fit Mount

    If your wheelchair has a 1” or 25mm frame top tube, the Short Keeper will be supplied with a snap fitting that is simply pressed in place onto the tubing. 

    The Short Keeper is then fastened to the snap fitting and can be fine-tuned by sliding it forward and back, before tightening the bolt with the supplied allen key.

     

    You’ll require 1” or 25mm of relatively flat clear space on the tubing for the snap fit mount and 55mm or 2 3/16” for the Short Keeper itself.

    2. Universal Mount

    If your wheelchair has a frame top tube diameter that is any size other than 1” or 25mm then a universal mount will be supplied.

    The universal mount attaches via two supplied cable ties and requires 1 ⅜” or 35mm of relatively flat space on the frame top tubing to be mounted effectively.

     

    Again, the position of the Short Keeper can then be fine tuned by sliding it forward and back on the universal mount.

    3. Direct Mount

    The Short Keeper can also be mounted directly to the tubing without the snap fit or universal mount using the supplied cable ties and rubber pad. 

    Common Scenarios

    There are three common scenarios where the Short Keeper is used.

    Scenario 1 - Folding Wheelchairs

    The first scenario is for folding wheelchairs (as below) that have a separate seat frame that moves up and down as it folds.

    In this scenario the Short Keeper fixes to the frame top tube, not the seat frame, so that when the seat frame moves up and down the Short Keeper does not move.

     

    If you have a folding wheelchair that doesn’t have a separate seat frame that moves up and down independently of the main frame, then the Long Keeper may be the better option for you.

    Scenario 2 - Forward of the Seat Base

    When there is not enough space to Velcro a Long Keeper to the solid or upholstery seat base, a Short Keeper can be mounted forward of your seat base provided there is enough flat area of tubing to mount it. 

     

    Please refer to the three mounting options above to determine if you have enough space to mount the Short Keeper in this position.

    Important Note - Leg Clearance

    It is important to note, that in all cases where the Short Keeper is mounted forward of the seat base, the Retractors should NOT be located horizontally off the frame top tube or cross frame rigidizer bar as they will be in the way of your legs.

     

    In this case, the Retractors will need to be mounted from the lower horizontal frame tube or the front vertical frame tube if these options are available for your chair. 

    More about these locations is provided in the Retractor Location Guides.

    Space for Hands

    If you use your frame top tube as a hand hold for transfers then you may want to consider how much space you will have available after mounting the Short Keeper, remembering that it is 55mm (2 3/16”) wide. 

     

    If there is insufficient space on top, you may consider mounting the Short Keeper directly under the top tube (as shown above) to give you more clearance.

    Scenario 3 - With Strap/Belt Seat Upholstery

    The Short Keeper may be suitable for rigid wheelchairs that use a strap/belt system for their seat base, particularly when there are doubts about aligning the Long Keeper up with these straps, or the surface area available to fix the adhesive velcro. 

    Short Keeper mounted directly to Top Frame Tube
    Short Keeper mounted with a snap fit to Top Frame Tube
    Retractor Alignment

    Remember, the Keeper must align with the Retractor webbing so you may have to come back to the Keeper guides to double check your choice after you’ve reviewed the Retractor Location Guides.

    Please Note

    Unless asked, you do not have to know the frame top tube diameter of your wheelchair as this is automatically selected for you based on your make and model. 

    Need Help?

    If this is the only option you’ve been given, it doesn’t look like it will work, or you’ve still got questions, then please contact us or your preferred reseller, and we’ll do our best to help.

    Long Keeper Guide

    Play Video
    Introduction

    The Long Keeper is almost exclusively used for rigid wheelchairs and gives the greatest amount of adjustment. It is robust, and simple to install

    Requirements
    • Requires 55mm (2 3/16”) of space on a solid or upholstery seat base forward of any side guards.
    • Can only be used with a rigid or fabric seat base, or a webbing base with straps that are 50mm or wider.
    • Not suitable for folding wheelchairs (with a few exceptions)
    Is There Enough Room?

    Do you have this room available? Will the location of the Keeper be close to your optimal position? If so, then the Long Keeper could work for you.

    How is it Attached?

    The Long Keeper attaches to the rigid or upholstery seat base, using adhesive Velcro which is provided. 

    It is worth noting that an upholstery seat base or strap system often has velcro sewn into it already and this can be used in addition to the Velcro provided.

    What About Strap/Belt Style Seat Upholstery?

    If you have a strap system for your seat base, then you will need to determine if there is a strap close enough to your optimal Keeper position to velcro or tape the Long Keeper to.

    You may be able to move the straps so that they are inline with your preferred Keeper position and if a strap already has Velcro on it, you may be able to use this in addition to the velcro supplied.

    If the strap can’t be moved or you’re not sure you can stick the Long Keeper to it, then selecting the Short Keeper (shown below), which attaches directly to the top frame tube of your wheelchair, may be a better option. You can learn more in the Short Keeper Guide.

    What About Folding Wheelchairs?

    If you have a folding wheelchair with a rising seat frame the Long Keeper won’t be suitable and a Short Keeper will be a better option.

    Retractor alignment

    The other factor that is important is making sure the webbing from the Retractor lines up with the optimal Keeper position.

    Need help?

    If this is the only option you’ve been given, it doesn’t look like it will work, or you’ve still got questions, then please contact us or your preferred reseller, and we’ll do our best to help.

    Keeper Location Overview

    Play Video
    Choosing the Best Keeper Location

    While in your wheelchair look down at your side and imagine using the LapStacker® to secure an item. Find the midpoint for this object and take a note of where this position is on your wheelchair frame’s top tube.

    Ideally, the Keepers are positioned central to where you will carry items, but the LapStacker® will still work if forward or back of this point. 

    Keeper and Retractor Alignment

    It is important to note that the Keeper needs to be in a position where the webbing from the Retractor can pass freely up into the Keeper and they also need to be aligned. 

    Keeper Guides

    Each Keeper style has its own Guide which will help you determine its suitability. Please review these guides in the next step of the selection process. 

    Need help?

    If, for some reason, none of the Keeper options look like they will work for you, or you’re unsure of something, then please feel free to contact us, or your preferred reseller, and we’ll do our best to help.

    Key Component Overview

    Play Video
    Retractors

    Every LapStacker® Set has two Retractors (seen below) – one for each side of your wheelchair. These contain the tensioned strap and locking mechanism.

    Retractor Locations

    Depending on your wheelchair make and model, you’ll be given a number of options for where the Retractors can be mounted. 

    These locations include the frame top tube, the cross frame rigidizer bar, the front vertical frame tube, and lastly, the lower horizontal frame tube which is common on folding chairs and dual tube rigid wheelchairs.

    Clamps and Brackets

    The Retractors mount to the wheelchair frame using a specific Clamp and Bracket (there are many types, including the 90 Bracket and  1″ Clamp seen below). 

    These are both automatically selected once your preferred Retractor mounting location is chosen.

    They are made from high quality and lightweight aluminium, with a stylish anodized finish.

    Buckles

    The Buckles attach to the Retractor straps. They use high strength magnets to guide the two sides together, then lock mechanically as the straps tighten.

    They are precision machined from aircraft grade aluminium for strength and anodized for a stylish finish.

     

    The Buckles are held in place by your side using Keepers. 

    Keepers

    We’ve designed three styles of Keeper and you’ll be asked to choose one from the available options for your chair. 

    Long Keeper

    The Long Keeper velcros to the wheelchair seat upholstery, or rigid seat base.

    Short Keeper

    The Short Keeper connects directly to the frame top tube.

    Side Guard Keeper

    The Side Guard Keeper mounts on the cushion side of a wheelchair’s side guards

    Are you eligible?

    Adaptdefy Ltd. is a VAT registered company; therefore purchases from customers within the EU are subject to UK Value Added Tax (VAT) at 20%.

    You will be eligible for exemption from VAT, however, if you meet one of the following criteria:

    • You have a physical or mental impairment which has a long-term and substantial adverse effect upon your ability to carry out everyday activities
    • You have a condition that the medical profession treats as a chronic sickness
    • You are terminally ill
    • You are making the purchase on behalf of your spouse or child, who meets one of the above criteria
    • You are purchasing from outside the European Union (EU)

    You will not normally be eligible for exemption from VAT if:

    • You, or the person you are buying for, intends to use the products for business purposes (personal and domestic use is okay)
    • The products will not be used by a particular individual or individuals but chronically sick or disabled people in general

    By entering your name and/or disability in the checkout you are making a written declaration that you are eligible for VAT exemption. Adaptdefy Ltd. will hold your details alongside your declaration in case of a query by the UK Tax Office (HMRC). You do not need to prove your eligibility at point of purchase, but may be required to do so by HMRC at a future date.

    If you are not eligible for VAT exemption please leave the VAT exemption fields blank. VAT at 20% will automatically be added to orders within the UK or European Union.